Anna Herrmann

Anna Herrmann was born in Leipzig in 1998.
She received her first cello lessons at the age of five, attending the class of Helga Kaufmann at the Altenburger Land school of music. In 2008 she was awarded a promotion for gifted pupils by the Altenburger Land, which enabled her to receive lessons from Prof.
Marie-Luise Leihenseder-Ewald (University of Music “Franz Liszt” Weimar). In 2013 Anna Herrmann changed into the class of Anna Niebuhr and from 2014 on she became a junior student at the University of Music and Theatre “Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy” Leipzig.

Since October 2017 she has been studying in the class of Prof. Peter Bruns in Leipzig. Additionally, since 2018 she studies with her string quartet “Gyldfeldt Quartett” at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía Madrid in the class of Günter Pichler. The quartet had concerts in France, Italy, Sweden, Switzerland, USA and all over Germany.
She receives chamber music lessons by Frank Reinecke (Vogler Quartett), in addition she attended courses of Peter Bruns, Wen-Sinn Yang, Anne-Katrin Lindig, Caspar Frantz, Gerald Fauth, Dirk Mommerz, Norman Fischer and the Kuss Quartett.
At the Federal “Jugend musiziert” Competition in 2016 Anna Herrmann gained 23 points and the second place in the classification for violoncello solo. She was awarded a promotion prize in the duet violoncello category at the competition “enviaM” in 2016. In October 2016 she received a diploma at the International „Dotzauer“ Competition for young cellists.

In December 2015 Anna Herrmann made her debut with the Philharmonic Orchestra Altenburg-Gera under the direction of Thomas Wicklein. She played the cello concerto no.1 in a-minor of C. Saint-Saëns. In 2017 she played D. Shostakovichs cello concerto no. 1 in es-major op. 107 as a solist with the same orchestra. She also was a member of the Thuringia and Saxony Youth Orchestra and the German String Philharmonie.

Anna Herrmann is receiving a scholarship from Live Music Now and has been part of the „Bayreuth Stipendium“ from the Richard Wagner Verband in 2018.

She plays on a violoncello made by Tobias Gräter, 2005.

photo by Josef Schumann


© 2020 by Gyldfeldt Quartett. All rights reserved.

Terms of Use | Impressum